GOVERNMENT FINANCE OFFICERS ASSOCATION OF SOUTH CAROLINA

2019 FALL CONFERENCE BUSINESS MEETING MINUTES – October 15, 2019 Marriott Hilton Head Resort and Spa

Board Members:

Juan M. Sims, President
Anne Harty, President-Elect
Matt Evans, Immediate Past President
Sarah Sullivan, Treasurer
Annette Holmes, Secretary

Matt Efird, Director Angela Gunter, Director Allison Williams, Director April Walling, Director Jennifer Hairston, GFOASC State Rep

- I. Call to Order: Juan Sims, President GFOASC Juan Sims welcomed the attendees and called the meeting to order at 8:10 a.m. The
 - **A. Adoption of Agenda:** Jennifer Hairston made a motion to adopt and Angela Gunter seconded. Passed Unanimously.
- **II. Treasurer's Report:** Sarah Sullivan reported that there was \$300,000.00 in the bank. Revenues were \$251,000 and Expenses were \$125,000. Sarah reported that there was a \$34,000 shortage for 2018 and \$24,000 for 2019. She also noted that there was a budget deficit for the Fall Conference and that the shortfall will be coming from reserves.

III. New Business:

- **A. Dues and Newsletter:** The GFOASC Board of Directors recommended an increase in the membership dues (per attached schedule). Jennifer Hairston made the motion to increase the membership dues based on the schedule and Angela Gunter seconded. The floor was open for discussion. There was none. Passed Unanimously.
- **B.** The Board stated that the newsletter committee has been used in several years due to the use of email blasts (per attached narrative). Allison Williams made the motion to eliminate the newsletter committee from the by-laws and Jennifer Hairston seconded. The floor was open for discussion. There was none. Passed Unanimously.
- C. **Honorary Membership Designation** –Juan Sims presented a plaque to Paul D. Jarvis, Jr., making him an honorary member of GFOASC. It was for his outstanding contributions to the organization.
- D. **Kathryn Zook Scholarship:** Matt Evans announced that Theresa Deloach at SC Department of Mental Health was awarded the Kathryn Zook certification scholarship.
- E. Election Results: Juan Sims announced the results as follows:

Matthew Norman, President-Elect

Cynthia Piper, Treasurer

James Hayes. Director

Nika Simmons Director

Also, it was noted that Matt Evans, Angela Gunter and Sarah Sullivan will no longer be on the Board and the President for 2020 will be Anne Harty.

- **IV. Closing Remarks:** Juan noted that has enjoyed serving as President and thanked the Fall Conference committee for doing a great job.
- V. Adjournment: Juan Sims, President GFOASC adjourned the meeting at 8:51. Jennifer Hairston made the motion and Sarah Sullivan seconded. Passed Unanimously.